Festival Weekend – September 26-27

september, 2020

27sep12:30 pm1:15 pmFeaturedVirtual EventSelf-Published Superstar StoriesNandi Taylor, E. Latimer, K.S. Villoso, Moderator: Derek Künsken12:30 pm - 1:15 pm EST

Event Details

Readers always wonder – how do authors get their start? Hear from three fantasy superstars, Nandi Taylor, E. Latimer, and K.S. Villoso, who navigated the world of self-publishing with aplomb! Moderated by Derek Kunsken.

Virtual Event Details

Event has already taken place!

Speakers

Derek Künsken

Derek Künsken has built genetically engineered viruses, worked with street children and refugees in Latin America, served as a Canadian diplomat, and, most importantly, taught his son about super-heroes and science. His short fiction has appeared in Analog Science Fiction and Fact, Beneath Ceaseless Skies and multiple times in Asimov’s Science Fiction. His stories have been adapted into audio podcasts, reprinted in various Year’s Best anthologies, and translated into multiple languages. They have also been short-listed for various awards, and won the Asimov’s Readers’ Award in 2013. He tweets from @derekkunsken, blogs at BlackGate.com, and makes his internet home at DerekKunsken.com.

E. Latimer

E. Latimer is the author of Witches of Ash and Ruin, and The Strange and Deadly Portraits of Bryony Gray. She lives on Vancouver Island, and her breakout success on the online writing platform, Wattpad.com, has resulted in a fanbase of over 100k followers, with over 20 million combined reads. She also vlogs weekly on the Word Nerds Youtube channel.

K.S. Villoso

K.S. Villoso writes speculative fiction with a focus on deeply personal themes and character-driven narratives. Much of her work is inspired by her childhood in the slums of Taguig, Philippines. She is now living amidst the forest and mountains with her husband, children, and dogs in Anmore, BC.

Nandi Taylor

Nandi Taylor is a Canadian writer of Afro-Caribbean descent based in Toronto. Her debut novel Given garnered over one million reads on the online story sharing site Wattpad and earned a starred review from ALA’s Booklist magazine. Common themes she writes about are growth, courage, and finding one’s place in the world.

Books

Given

As a princess of the Moonrise Isles Yenni has always put duty before her own desires. When her father falls gravely ill she sets out on an arduous journey to a magical academy in the far reaches of the Empire of Cresh. There is no room for failure, but Yenni struggles to learn the strange magic of Cresh as a cure continues to evade her. And complicating matters is Weysh, a dragon shifter who says Yenni is his Given―his one true partner ordained by destiny.
With her father’s life hanging in the balance and her feelings for Weysh deepening, Yenni’s greatest challenge has just begun―save her people, while following her heart.

AuthorNandi Taylor

House of Styx

Life can exist anywhere. And anywhere there is life, there is home.

In the swirling clouds of Venus, the families of la colonie live on floating plant-like trawlers, salvaging what they can in the fierce acid rain and crackling storms. Outside is dangerous, but humankind’s hold on the planet is fragile and they spend most of their days surviving.

But Venus carries its own secrets, too. In the depths, there is a wind that shouldn’t exist.

And the House of Styx wants to harness it.

AuthorDerek Kunsken

The Ikessar Falcon

The sequel to The Wolf of Oren-yaro, and the second book in a character-driven epic fantasy trilogy that is perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Mark Lawrence.

AuthorK.S. Villoso

Witches of Ash and Ruin

Modern witchcraft blends with ancient Celtic mythology in an epic clash of witches and gods, perfect for fans of V.E. Schwab’s Shades of Magic trilogy and the Chilling Adventures of Sabrina.

AuthorE. Latimer

Time

(Sunday) 12:30 pm - 1:15 pm EST

X