Celebrating the Winners of the 2023 Journey Prize

28may10:00 am11:00 amCelebrating the Winners of the 2023 Journey PrizePresented by Writers' Trust of Canada
With Dianah Smith, Lue Palmer, Téa Mutonji, and Terese Mason Pierre

Speakers for this event

  • Chinelo Onwualu

    Chinelo Onwualu


    Chinelo Onwualu is a Nigerian writer, editor and recovering journalist. She is former co-editor of Anathema magazine, the co-founder of Omenana, a magazine of African Speculative Fiction, and former chief spokesperson for the African Speculative Fiction Society. She’s a 2014 graduate of the Clarion West Writers Workshop, which she attended as the recipient of the Octavia E. Butler Scholarship. Her short stories have been featured in several magazines and anthologies, including the award-winning Africa Risen: A New Era of Speculative Fiction, The Saga Anthology of Science Fiction 2020, and 2021’s Best of World SF Vol.1. She’s been nominated for the Nommo Award for African Speculative Fiction. Ex Marginalia, her debut anthology of essays by speculative fiction writers of colour, is available now through Hydra House Books.


  • Dianah Smith

    Dianah Smith


    Dianah Smith writes to grieve/retrieve the past, make sense of the present, and leave a legacy for the future. She has been published by the University of Alberta Press, McGraw-Hill Ryerson, the Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives, the Best of rabble.ca, and Shameless Magazine.


  • Lue Palmer

    Lue Palmer


    Lue Palmer is a writer of prose and poetry on Black relationships to nature, the fantastic in the everyday, and the retelling of history. They have roots in Portland, Jamaica and are currently at work on their first novel, The Hungry River. Lue is beginning a new facet of their career in climate work, writing about environmental racism in New Orleans. They were a recipient of the 2021 Octavia E. Butler Memorial Scholarship, an alumni of the Clarion West Program and a recent graduate of Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism.


  • Téa Mutonji

    Téa Mutonji


    Born in Congo-Kinshasa, Téa Mutonji’s work focuses on friendship, womanhood and sexuality. Her short stories, Property of Neil and The Photographer’s Wife were winners of McClelland & Steward’s Journey Prize’s Black Excellence issue (2023). She holds a degree in Media Studies with minors in English Literature and Creative Writing from the University of Toronto Scarborough. Her collection of short stories, Shut Up You’re Pretty is the first title from Vivek Shraya’s imprint, VS. Books via Arsenal Pulp Press. It was shortlisted for the Atwood Gibson Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize (2019) and won the Edmund White Debut Fiction Award (2020) and the Trillium Book Award (2020). Téa is the recipient of the Jill Davis fellowship in Fiction at NYU where she is completing her MFA in fiction.


  • Terese Mason Pierre

    Terese Mason Pierre


    Terese Mason Pierre is a writer and editor whose work has appeared in The Walrus, ROOM, Quill & Quire, and Fantasy Magazine, among others. Her work has been nominated for the Ignyte Award, the Rhysling Award, and Best of the Net. She is the co-Editor-in-Chief of Augur Magazine, and the author of chapbooks, Surface Area (Anstruther Press, 2019) and Manifest (Gap Riot Press, 2020). Terese lives and works in Toronto, Canada.


Event Details

Presented by Writers’ Trust of Canada

Hear from some of the brightest emerging voices in Canadian literature in this discussion with 2023 Writers’ Trust McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize winners. Featuring Téa Mutonji, Terese Mason Pierre, Dianah Smith, and Lue Palmer, moderated by Chinelo Onwualu.

The Journey Prize Stories 33: The Best of Canada’s New Black Writers
McClelland & Stewart

For over thirty years, The Journey Prize Stories has consistently introduced readers to the next generation of great Canadian writers. The 33rd edition of Canada’s most prestigious annual fiction anthology proudly continues this tradition by celebrating the best emerging Black writers in the country, as selected by a jury comprising internationally acclaimed, award-winning writers David Chariandy, Esi Edugyan, and Canisia Lubrin.  


Presented by Writers' Trust of Canada